The Official Kountr Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

There Really isn’t Going to Be a Day Off Ever Again

leave a comment »

And I am loving every minute of this. Once the kids were asleep I started working in earnest on a new widget for Kountr. This is something Antoinette and I have talked a lot about but no one had asked for it. Until today. A coworker sent me feedback asking for an iGoogle widget. This was great because I wasn’t sure what type of widget to create. Rule of thumb, develop the one your user wants.

It turns out it is really easy to create widgets with the framework that Google has created.

If you would like to try out the widget go to iGoogle and click on “Add stuff>>” it is in the top right corner. On the left side there will be a link “Add feed or gadget” click on this. In the text box type “http://www.kountr.com/media/counter/kountr_widget.xml” and type Enter. The widget will be added to your page.

To select the kount to display, find the kount at http://www.kountr.com, then look in the url. The number at the end of the url is the kountr id. Back on your iGoogle page go to the widget menu and select “Edit settings” then enter you kountr id in the text box.

I haven’t got it perfect so your feedback is very welcome. I think this will be a great feature and I need your help to make that happen.

Written by Michael Artemiw

May 8, 2008 at 4:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment